Click for Academy of Management home page

Academy of Management

2013 George R. Terry Book Award

George R. Terry Book Award

George R. Terry Book Award Committee: 

Anne Marie Knott (CHAIR), Christine Beckman, Emilio Castilla, David Kirsch, Gerry McDermott

The George R. Terry Book Award is granted annually to the book judged to have made the most outstanding contribution to the advancement of management knowledge.  Books recognized for this award have been published during the previous two years and have made a significant impact on management theory, conceptualization, research or practice.

After a thorough review of over 50 submissions, the committee selected two books to receive this year's award. The recipients of 2013 George R. Terry Book Award are:

2013 Terry Book

  •  The Institutional Logics Perspective: A New Approach to Culture, Structure and Process
    By: Patricia H. Thornton, William Ocasio and Michael Lounsbury
  • Capitalism from Below: Markets and Institutional Change in China
    By: Victor Nee and Sonja Opper

Honorable mention goes to the following finalists for this year's award:

  • Normal Organizational Wrongdoing: A Critical Analysis of Theories of Misconduct in and by Organizations
    By: Donald Palmer
  • The Wide Lens
    By: Ron Adner
  • The Founder's Dilemmas: Anticipating and Avoiding the Pitfalls That Can Sink a Startup
    By: Noam Wasserman


2013 George R. Terry Book Award Finalists & Award Recipients

 2013 Terry Book Recipients and Finalists


Learn more about the George R. Terry Book Award:



Academy of Management
Member Services
Academy of Management
Online Opportunities
Academy of Management